These days, Instagram has become one of the most popular services used by mobile phone users, but they may decide to deactivate Instagram for various reasons.
Setting up Instagram is easy, and enjoying Instagram posts is great, but sometimes it can be tiring for some users. Many of us may want to take a temporary break from this app, which can be a short rest or increased focus on a specific task. Whatever the reason, it’s good to know that Instagram has provided a solution for such situations, and it’s called deactivating Instagram. I suggest you see the article on Instagram Tutorial: From 0 To 100 For Beginners.
What is Deactivating Instagram?
Deactivating Instagram means temporarily disabling your Instagram account. Instagram has provided two different options for users who do not want to stay on this app:
- Temporarily deactivate Instagram.
- Permanently delete your Instagram account.
By deactivating your account, your Instagram profile disappears from within Instagram and is hidden from all Instagram users. However, unlike permanently deleting your Instagram account, none of your information will be lost, and you will have access to all your information exactly as before by logging back into Instagram.
When deactivating your Instagram account, keep the following in mind:
- Deactivating Instagram can only be done through the official website.
- Your information, including followers, posts, and archives, will not be deleted.
- Your account will not be deleted and will only temporarily deactivated until you log back in.
Deactivating Instagram is very easy. Here are the steps to deactivate your Instagram account using a desktop browser, which is similar to the steps you need to take on a mobile browser:
How to Deactivate Instagram?
To deactivate your Instagram account, follow these steps:
- go to the Deactivate Instagram website on your mobile or desktop.
- If you have previously logged into Instagram on your browser, you will be taken to your Instagram profile. Otherwise, enter your username and password, click “Log in” at the bottom of the page, and log into your account.
- Next, click the profile icon in the top right corner and select “Settings” from the drop-down menu.
- 4. Now scroll down and select the “Temporarily deactivate my account” option.
- 5. In the next step, click “Why are you disabling your account?” and state your reason for deactivating Instagram.
- 6. Then enter your account password again and finally click “Temporarily Disable Account” or “Temporarily deactivating Account”.
- By doing so, your account will be deactivated.
To reactivate your Instagram account, open the Instagram app and enter your username and password. You will be taken back to your account page. Note that no message will be sent to your followers after deactivating your account, but when you reactivate your account, some of your followers may receive a notification.
The reason for these notifications to your friends and followers is the tags you have used in some of your posts. Tags can cause these notifications to be sent to those who have been tagged in your post.
Now that you are familiar with deactivating Instagram, it is better to discuss permanently deleting an Instagram account.
Permanently deleting an Instagram account.
Instagram allows users to delete their accounts permanently, but with the difference, all information, including followers, likes, posts, etc., will be permanently deleted. However, if you intend to permanently delete your Instagram account, stay with us for the next steps.
- To permanently delete your Instagram account, you first need to visit the Instagram Delete Your Account page.
- After clicking on the “Delete Your Account” link, it is essential to fill in the following two fields:
- Why do you want to delete your account: Select your reason for deleting Instagram.
- Re-enter your password: Enter your account password.
- After completing the required fields, click the “Delete Your Account” button.
- By doing this, you will permanently delete your Instagram account.
Deleting an Instagram account from the app
If you do not want to deactivate or delete your Instagram account, you can always remove it from the app. However, add another Instagram account if you want to continue using the Instagram app. Here’s how:
- First, open the Instagram app.
- Tap the three-line icon in the top right corner and go to the Settings section.
- In this section, scroll down to the bottom of the page and tap on the “Delete Account” or “Log Out” option.
- This way, you can delete your Instagram account from within the app, and if needed, you can return to it again.
we have tried to fully explain the process of deactivating an Instagram account in this article. With this method, you can take a break from Instagram and return later. To deactivate your account, follow the steps mentioned above. As you know, Instagram is the most popular social network worldwide, with nearly one billion monthly users, and this has led man to think about making money from it.
When you deactivate your Instagram account, your account information is saved, and you can restore your account whenever you want. But with permanent account deletion, there is no way to recover your account after one month.
Most of the time, your account will be deactivated immediately after submitting the request. However, sometimes, your account may take several hours to deactivate.
No, this feature has been removed in recent updates, and deactivating an Instagram account, like permanent deletion, can only be done through the official Instagram website.
If you choose the permanent account deletion option, then yes, they will be deleted permanently. However, your archive and posts will remain intact with the deactivation option. Nevertheless, it is recommended to download any videos or stories you want to keep before deactivating your account.
Users can deactivate their accounts on computers and mobile phones using the methods mentioned in this article. To do this, open the Instagram Deactivate Account link in your mobile phone’s browser.